Postcards from Podunk

“I’m shakin’ the dust of this crummy little town off my feet and I’m gonna see the world. Italy, Greece, the Parthenon, the Coliseum. Then, I’m comin’ back here to go to college and see what they know. And then I’m gonna build things. I’m gonna build airfields, I’m gonna build skyscrapers a hundred stories high, I’m gonna build bridges a mile long…”

Jimmy Stewart as George Bailey may have given this little speech in It’s a Wonderful Life, but I gave a similar one my senior year at Podunk High School, to just about anyone who would listen.  Oh, mine was a little different.  I was going to shake the dust first, go to college next, become a journalist, and THEN travel the globe, hacking through jungles, and changing the world with my pen.

Over 30 class reunion years later, I’m still here, in Podunk, Texas.

The reasons are for another day, and I’ve often struggled to accept my seemingly-permanent Podunk residency.  And then, one summer day, a Gentle God showed me that my mission field was in my living room.  That’s the day my view began to change.

For this Multitude Monday, I’m noticing things I love about my little town, and there are many.  You might even see a bumper sticker on my car some day:  Lovin’ Life in Podunk.

As the list grows, the heart softens:

#446 – Downtown festivals with shopping booths:

#447 – Parades:

#448 – Texas Cowboys on horses:

#449 – A front-row, shady spot:

#450 – My favorite guys at my side:

It doesn’t get much better than that.

“Let the peace of God rule in your hearts…and be thankful.

(Colossians 3:15)

holy experience

This entry was posted in A Thankful Heart and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Postcards from Podunk

  1. Enjoyed your post today. Thank you for sharing about your learning that we don’t have to leave our current circumstances to do a great work for God. Glad you are finding these things about Podunk that you enjoy.

  2. Pingback: When Hard Things Heal « Daily Walking

  3. Pingback: Love Letter to You « Daily Walking

Leave a comment