The Day the Wise Doctor Spoke

Memories float like wispy lace, just like the January snowflakes outside my hospital window.  Faded snapshots these, but after all, it was 28 years ago. We had a new daughter, helpless and lovely, and he’d thanked me and brought lip balm for the panting of labor.  Slow motion it fell (the lip balm) clatter rolling to the corner. Smiling Nurse picked it up, and handed it to me.

“My husband brought me that,” I bragged, all dreamy-pleased.

“I wish I’d married someone that thoughtful,” Nurse mused, voice trailing, just a tiny slice bitter, eyes drifting toward the snow.

We thought Wise Doctor was immersed in his chart, but he listened, and he spoke.

“It’s not about marrying the right person; it’s about being the right person.”

We were silent, for there was nothing more to say.  How truly he spoke, Wise, Faith-Famous Doctor, and I’ve remembered his words always.  I remember them today.

Soon, rare snow melted into spring and summer and fall, around and around, dizzy.  Somehow, somewhere across the days and months and miles I looked more to the mirror and less to my husband, and gradually, I forgot to clutch, nails dug in.  He shrugged loose of my grip and the contracts he never read or signed burst over his head, like iridescent bubble fireworks.

Fast forwarded and free, he blinks (new sunlight).  Muscles stretching, he turns to run, for jogging is something he loves.  Stopping, he remembers me, and turns, slow-smiling.

“Are you coming?” he asks, voice gentle, tender.

Yes, I’m coming.  Forever and always, yes.  Oh, thank you, Wise Doctor.  And thank You, Wise Lord.

Search me, O God, and know my heart.  Test me, and know my thoughts.  Point out anything in me that offends you, and lead me along the path of everlasting life.

Psalm 139:  23 & 24, New Living Translation

Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility consider others better than yourselves.  Each of you should look not only to your own interests, but also to the interests of others.  Your attitude should be the same as that of Christ Jesus…

Philippians 2: 3-5, NIV

The wisdom that is from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, willing to yield, full of mercy and good fruits, without partiality and without hypocrisy.

James 3:17, NKJV

 

This entry was posted in Just Being Real and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Day the Wise Doctor Spoke

  1. Thank you for sharing your Wise Doctor’s advice…for truly that is THE prescription for a good marriage…not about marrying the right person, but being the right person. I’ve enjoyed stopping here today.

  2. this gave chills. you write so well. visiting from ann’s… bless you.

  3. misty says:

    oh, this line:
    Somehow, somewhere across the days and months and miles I looked more to the mirror and less to him, and gradually, I forgot to clutch, nails dug in.
    cuts in deeply!!! this is SO good. i so fearfully clutch, knuckle-white, and mirror-gaze. i pray that i will remember your wise dr’s words and be the right person and be with the one who Is.

  4. Trish says:

    Beautifully written. LOVE it!

  5. Adam Bryant says:

    I have begun to love reading your insights to life. your willingness to share and your gifts of speech has been used by God more than you could know. Thanks!

  6. Jenny says:

    Oh how I loved this!

  7. Cousin Tony says:

    Really beautiful. Thank you for sharing this.

  8. lorilowe says:

    Thanks so much for commenting on my post We all married the wrong person, and linking to your lovely post. I have received such an overwhelming response that I have published an update “More on Marrying the Wrong Person” to keep the discussion going: http://wp.me/pgTZD-v3 I’d love your input.
    Peace,
    Lori Lowe
    http://www.LifeGems4Marriage.com

Leave a Reply

