The Broke Shopping List

Okay, to explain my previous post about broke shopping a little better, I’ll shift from a  how question to a why question.  To get specific, I’ll tackle this conundrum, as best as I can:

Why in the world would I be thankful for a money hemorrhage?

Well, I’m getting  ahead of myself, a bit.  I guess I need to do a little splainin’ first.

It was days-long.  It gathered steam in Dallas, skipped like a rock on a pond across Texas, and skidded to a stop in the dusty antique/thrift stores of Abilene.  It was a marketing relay, and despite my looming financial crisis, it is proudly listed as something I’m thankful for.

Why?  Well, I’ll just make a shopping list of reasons for you.

  1. We shopped for an upcoming family wedding.  This is a happy thought.
  2. Scored, among other random, non-wedding finds:  Needed-for-Literal-Years Brown Flats.
  3. I needed H-E-L-P updating my look.  (Enter stage left:  helpful/young/hip/beautiful people.)
  4. Every time I picked up something a 95-year-old granny would like, the young/hip/beautiful people yelled, “NOOOOOOOO-put-that-down.”  (In unison.)
  5. The wedding to-do list gained check mark after check mark.
  6. We built relationships and figured each other out, belly-laughing as we went.
  7. Interesting food places dripping with local color called our names, and several times, we answered.
  8. My future daughter-in-law chose the perfect, on-sale dress for me to wear to her wedding, in about 30 seconds flat.  How cool is that?
  9. My 7-year-old, super-shopper granddaughter Gracie chose the perfect, clearance shoes to go with the dress in about 1 minute flat.  Seriously.
  10. Where else can you find thrift store boots like these?

So there, you have it.  Ten perfectly good reasons to be thankful for a serious dollar dilemma.  I can’t make this stuff up.

And finally, some really important words to never, ever forget:

“So I tell you, don’t worry about everyday life–whether you have enough food, drink, and clothes.  Doesn’t life consist of more than food and clothing?

Your heavenly Father already knows all your needs, and he will give you all you need from day to day if you live for him and make the Kingdom of God your primary concern.”

(Matthew 6: 25 & 32-33, New Living Translation)


This entry was posted in 10 on the Tenth, A Thankful Heart, Just Being Real, Laughter and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Broke Shopping List

  1. Amen, Stephanie! You know, we went through bankruptcy last year…and there are some tales to tell about ways God provided and friends who came along-side.

    I love your story, here! Delightful, soaked-up life!

  2. carpoolqueen says:

    Those boots are GORGEOUS!!!

  3. Rebecca says:

    Love it Steph! We really did have a great time. I’m ready for the big shin-dig/wedding!

  4. Meredith says:

    Sounds like a fun time! I’m glad you found just what you needed and had some help doing so. And so glad you joined the 10-on-th-10th fun!

  5. Pingback: When the Juggling is Over… « Daily Walking

Leave a Reply

