Walking Though the Fire πŸ”₯

God is rocking me to the core of my existence, which (strangely) is a process I welcome. I’m just trying not to miss any memos.

I’ve learned that fire can be good, because the heat brings to the surface things that need to be dealt with. If I’ll take those things to God, and be honest about them, He skims them off and I’m that much closer to love, joy, and peace. If I don’t, even when the heat dies down, those things just settle back down in the muck. They don’t go away, and when things heat up the next time, there they are again, leering at me and at others. 

One thing I’m seeing in this period of fire is that a communication problem in our family culture has filtered down to our children and caused damage. I can’t, as a Christ-follower, let this spiritual disaster continue.

Of course, I can’t go back either, so there’s no need for despair. But I can address things from this point on, as far as I’m concerned, and as best as I can.

It’s hard. It hurts. And I hate pain.

But today, I say bring it. I want to get better in a way that helps the people around me and brings glory to the Lover of my soul, Jesus Christ. Without Him, I’d quite literally be dead. 

So for starters, I’m clinging for life to God, the Three-In-One, who is my only hope for any of it. (Picture a child holding on to Daddy’s leg.) And I’m stumbling along, often failing, but listening and learning and applying. I’ll try to remember to stop by here from time to time and share my lessons. πŸ˜„

One thing I know, dear fellow sojourners, is that in Christ, no matter what, we can do this thing called life. I just have to remember, doggedly, even when weaving through the smoke, that it starts with walking with Him, every day, just for the pleasure of it. And on that, I can’t ever give up.

IMG_5113

On repeat today, to help with my lessons: Say by John Mayer. I’ve always liked John Mayer’s music, even though I don’t usually listen to him much. But this song is one I keep coming back to, from time to time. His voice is gravelly butter, with a satisfying hint of drawl in his delivery. He’s an excellent guitarist and a good lyricist and songwriter. The teenager-for-a-few-more-weeks especially likes his newest stuff. 

“Even if your hands are shaking…and your faith is broken. Even as the eyes are closin’…do it with a heart wide open. 

Say what you need to say…”

 

This entry was posted in Just Being Real and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

