When You Grump At the Courtesy Caller

Well, I did it again. I went off for a week and had a whooping-good time, and got behind on my home budget system. Some of my bills went past due, and the fees started hitting and piling up.

Sigh.

Today, a bright-faced (she sounded bright-faced) courtesy caller from Charter Internet called to thank me for my recent payment, and to inform me that my new balance was $77.14 and would be due on the 28th.

Wait, what? My monthly bill is $64.99, and the balance sounded too high, but I was going from memory, so she started pulling up my account records, and I logged in, also. We sorted it out, but not before I told her how it sucked that they sock it to poor, innocent people who go out of town for a week and live life in the hamster wheel upon returning, and are just minding their own business.

Right.

I was courteous in tone, mind you, but in my heart, I was absolutely furious. And at that bright-faced caller, who is someone’s daughter or sister or wife or friend and who is just trying to make a living at a calling center.

Double sigh.

I quickly asked God’s forgiveness in my heart, based on Jesus’s sacrifice, and apologized to her, and she kind of stammered that she was just being, you know…courteous in calling. And she really was. She offered to call me near the 28th to remind me that my payment was due.

I told her thank you, that I had a system, but that I just got off kilter because of a trip out of town, coupled with crazy life. I told her all of this was certainly not her fault.

And to think that the only eternal thing I have dealt with this morning so far was that caller…

She wished me a good day, and I thanked her and wished her the same, and hopefully, we will both have one.

Here is the point: Yes, I have a system, but obviously, it needs improvement. And the only one who can do that is me. I’d better get started.

So why did I get angry in my heart at that cheerful caller, who was just doing her job? It doesn’t matter how courteous I sounded on the outside. I got mad at her because I was born with a sin problem on the inside. It’s my default button, every day. And before Jesus came to this earth to offer Himself as the solution to that problem, there was no answer.

Thankfully, now there is, and I know and follow Him. So the answer to my ugly problem is always just a prayer away.

Thank You, Jesus, for being my Answer.

18 But what comes out of the mouth proceeds from the heart, and this defiles a person. 19 For out of the heart come evil thoughts, murder, adultery, sexual immorality, theft, false witness, slander.

Matthew 15: 18-19, ESV

This entry was posted in Facing the Monsters, Just Being Real, The Year of Order (2017) and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

