Three Things

In the little, orange box, I put three things to give to Jesus in 2017. It’s my way of treasuring Him. It won’t be easy.

img_2581

Here are the three things I put in the box this year:

Yellow

This word won’t make any sense to most people. But Yellow is something I’ve thought of for years. I’m not sure if it’s God’s idea, or mine. So, I put the Yellow idea in the box. I’m giving it to Him. It might be so He can make it happen. Or, it might be so He can help me let go of it. It might need to die. Either way, it’s in His hands. It’s in the box.

Gaming

My college son invited me to play Pokemon Go last July. We started playing together, and I’ve continued after he left for college. I’m at a high level in the game. I play too much.

My beautiful, hipster granddaughter introduced me to Animal Jam, an online animal adventure by National Geographic. I started by just getting my daily spin each day. Then, the allure of the game called me in, and the social interaction with my granddaughter and her little sister was just a bonus.

As 2016 ended, I knew, in my heart-of-hearts, that gaming was stealing hours from me. And with dread, I knew it had to go in the box.

There’s nothing wrong with either of these games. It’s just a matter (for me) of choosing the better thing.

I’m not sure what this will look like, but I’ve already put fences around myself, and I trust God to lead me from here.

My Heart

As much Christmas music as I’ve listened to, I can’t believe that I’m about to say that I heard “Last Christmas” for the first time in 2016. I guess it’s because George Michael died, and his music enjoyed a revitalization. Here’s how the song starts:

Last Christmas, I gave you my heart
But the very next day, you gave it away
This year, to save me from tears
I’ll give it to someone special…

Also, like the old-school song, “The Little Drummer Boy,” I really have no gift to bring that’s fit for a King.

I’m struggling to explain this, but for some reason, I just felt I needed to symbolically put my heart in the box. So, it’s there. I gave it to someone special…the most special person who’s ever lived.

But why are you revealing on the front end?

This blog exists for several reasons, and one is just as a writing exercise for myself. Another  reason is for me to work things out in black and white. And in this blog, I practice one of my greatest assignments and struggles:  to be real.

When I finally, truly met Jesus face-to-face (in a manner of speaking), in a strange experience I can’t really explain, the first thing He wanted me to do was cut the crap. I don’t know how else to say that, so I just said it. Jesus demanded that I be real, since He’s the Truth anyway. I certainly wasn’t fooling Him, or for that matter, many other people, as it turns out. The very first step between us had to be me being real.

This is  also one of my most important life lessons, and the reason John 8:32 is my life verse. Learning this lesson was truly the first step to freedom, for me.

But pulling it off was another thing entirely. As the Queen of Pride, and as a person adept at faking it, this was an impossible request. In fact, faking it was one of my best coping mechanisms, or so I thought. I still struggle with it to this day. But thankfully, Jesus is the God of miracles. He’s the only Way I’ll ever do anything.

So, there you have it. Me being real.

So, how’s it going?

I’ve already slipped and fallen in each area multiple times. But I’m not giving up. And He is always there with His hand out to help me up. No, to lift me up.

Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me…” 

John 14:6, ESV

“Let not your heart be troubled; you believe in God, believe also in Me…” 

John 14:1, NKJV

“…And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.”

John 8:32, NKJV

This entry was posted in Facing the Monsters, Just Being Real, The Year of Order (2017) and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Three Things

  1. Pingback: When I Lost My Heart to You | Daily Walking

Leave a Reply

