Technology (Oopsie)

Well, that didn’t take long.


Snapchat is dangerous. And that’s what I get for posting that arrogant last blog.

I sent a Snapchat to my daughter yesterday morning from a hotel bathroom. Doesn’t this sound shady already? I took an unflattering video of my poor hubbs in the doorway. I said to my daughter, “I’m dangerous on Snapchat. There’s no telling what I’ll accidentally send to whomever.”

And it’s true. The evil isn’t in the thing. The evil is in me.

Here’s what I’ve learned in the past 48 hours:

  • Social media is a black hole.
  • There are about a bazillion ways for me to be to be led astray there.
  • I need to be more adept at using Snapchat before I tap one more key in that app.
  • Videos and photos from Snapchat are saved to your camera roll. 😳

(Well, they are when you don’t know what you’re doing. 😂)

Yes, my clan keeps it squeaky clean on social media. But Snapchat gives a false sense of privacy. And I still would not want those no-makeup, bathroom shots to get misplaced while traveling through all those servers, even if they are fully clothed.

So…

After purging my camera roll of all those um, Snapchat things, I have a new sense of respect for the peace, quiet and safety of life unplugged.

Now, don’t get me wrong; I still use technology. But I’m going to strengthen my fences a little. 

And I’m going to remember the message from this song:

This entry was posted in Facing the Monsters, Fun Stuff, Just Being Real, Laughter and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Technology (Oopsie)

  1. jonathanmjulion says:

    Technology isn’t what it used to be now days. There’s some technology that can used be used for our benefit and there’s some that have no reason for being up there in the first place. I personally agree what your saying about technology because sometimes it can be misused, but technology was really meant for business and networking not what it’s used for now days which all you see is hood fights, cyber bullying and even dating. I believe that we have to stand for what we believe in and hope that this technology is used correctly in the near future.

Leave a Reply

