The 40 Day Prayer Challenge (Update)

It’s hard to be real, but I’m going to give it a go. Being real is something Jesus (the Truth) called me to practice doing a long time ago.

I was recently asked this question with regards to my participation in the 40 Day Prayer Challenge:  What has been your greatest victory?

40 Days Book

markbatterson.com/books/draw-the-circle

This post is my attempt to answer that question, in part. In a sense, the question is still being answered, because I’m not finished with the challenge yet. I’m currently on Day 30.

Our church provided a card for this challenge that had a circle with five numbers on it, so that we could fill in five requests. My first item was our marriage. Here was my prayer:  “Lord, please make our marriage be what You want it to be, and not what we want it to be.”

I prayed that prayer for some time, until one day, I had an “aha” moment. It was as if the Lord said to me that our marriage of nearly four decades already honors Him, as it stands. My heart was warmed by that thought, because although our marriage is by no means perfect, and we’ve both had the divorce thought, lasting this long is definitely what we wanted, too. What a beautiful answer! But as I began to cross that item off my list, I had the thought to change my prayer and continue praying.  I prayed, “Okay, Lord, then please cement us together better…draw us closer and closer to each other.”

Now, I had a definite picture of how that prayer would be answered, and I can tell you that the snapshot showed that desired closeness coming from my husband’s end.  But it didn’t happen that way. God answered that prayer from my end. He pulled my heart closer and closer to my husband. It’s an internal thing, and it is warm and beautiful and it gives me chills and has me in absolute awe of the other “Him” in my life–the God of the universe.

Thank You, Father.

 

Note:  Items two and three on my card have also been answered, but that’s another blog. 🙂

This entry was posted in 40 Day Prayer Challenge, A Thankful Heart, Just Being Real, The Year of Priorities (2016) and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The 40 Day Prayer Challenge (Update)

  1. I appreciate your honesty. I love when God grants us those AHA moments, and the answered prayers that give us chills. What an encouragement!

Leave a Reply

