What I Learned in the Year of Joy

The Year of Joy was so beautiful that I don’t want to leave it.

Joy Bracelet

The lessons I leaned would fill too much space, and I haven’t been faithful to blog them. But one thing I realized anew is that being in God’s presence regularly is a key to joy that is true, full and enduring. It is a life line.

I also leaned that I must align myself with God.  And that I must give Him His due, even in my schedule, or I am lost to this broken world, over and over again.

Christmas Tree

I learned that I am not an answer to anything. I felt acutely the civil war between my flesh and the Holy Spirit that lives within me. And I saw that without Him, I have not one shred of hope. I cannot let my guard down, ever. I must fight, using the armor of God provided for me at great cost.

But oh…if I come. And if I look without turning away. And if listen, and submit. And if I adjust…

Oh!

If I do those things, and if I don’t give up, there is love that surrounds me with sweet, secret  surprises. There is peace that wraps me in its warmth and softness. And there is joy unspeakable. No amount of glitter or light or anything good in this world can produce the right adjectives to describe all of this. It is as airy as a feather, and nothing can weigh it down.

(Thank You, God.)

Please notice, friend,  that I didn’t say any of this was easy. In fact, if you will recall, I used the word “war.” But God Almighty, the I AM, was this year. His power, stronger than an atomic explosion, carried me through the choppy times, even though at my core, I am limp as a noodle.  The battles were fought and won long ago. Isn’t that worth a shout of praise?  I think so.

Today, and this week, I am praying about what to name 2016. Will you pray with me?

11 You make known to me the path of life;
    in your presence there is fullness of joy;
    at your right hand are pleasures forevermore. 

(Psalm 16:11, ESV)

 Pansies
This entry was posted in The Year of Joy (2015) and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What I Learned in the Year of Joy

  1. Cousin Tony says:

    Fantastic post, and beautifully written.

    “I also leaned that I must align myself with God.”

    Don’t we all! In a similar way, I too, fall out of grace and think I can go it alone and I do it…for a while. I make the mistake of seeking for spiritual help only when I’m hurting. I would be better *and easier* if I tried to live in Gods grace in the good times as well as the bad. It a lesson we all seem to have to learn and relearn and relearn.

    Happy new year!!!

Leave a Reply

