Be Careful What You Soak In

When Sharon, our woman’s ministry director, shared her heart with me about the Soaking tonight at our church, I could barely contain my excitement. The explanation for that is too long for this space, but I will say that part of the story involves a struggle I shared with our life group last year. For two years, I tried to walk away from the TV by nine p.m. every night, and for two years, my pattern was, every night, to fail. This may seem like a small thing, but I assure you, it was a spiritual struggle, and I was locked in a pattern of defeat.

Although I’ve in no way arrived, I do have victory in this area now, and it doesn’t look anything like I thought it would. I will share a few points, and then, back to the Soaking.

First, God used Pastor Todd’s messages from Judges, especially the first two, and also a teaching series by Dr. Tony Evans called Life in the Spirit to guide me. They worked almost lockstep together, and of course, God was the Author of it all.

Next, I had to change my mind. Both teachers used those words exactly, and it was true.

Also key was that I had to spread my worship out over the week, or the world/the flesh/the enemy drained my tank before I got past Monday.  And a biggie: idols had to fall. And finally, I had to align my views with God’s.

Which brings me back to the Soaking.  It wasn’t until Sharon shared the Soaking with me that I understood a story Dr. Evans told about a crusty pot in his kitchen sink.  It had to soak to break loose.  It had to stay there awhile.  It had to abide.

Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in me. I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing.  (John 15: 4-5 ESV)

I was soaking in Netflix. I was soaking in indie and pop music. I was soaking in social media. And all the while I said I wished I had more time for God.

After some thought, I decided to replace chunks of time I was spending on those other things with better things to soak in:  worship music on my bike ride, Todd/Tony Evans/the Bible on my phone while I actually do the dishes after dinner, not walking away from apartment ministry after all, opening the paper Bible to determine God’s view on a matter, and more.

And while we’re talking idols, forget walking out of the room.  I had to do my worship before I could even walk in.  Ouch.

So, there you have it.  I can’t wait until the Soaking on September 17.  I’m going to totally lose myself in it, like a crazy person.

Soaking

This entry was posted in A Thankful Heart, Women's Ministry Newsletters and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Be Careful What You Soak In

  1. adam bryant says:

    awesome! but try and not follow David’s rejoicing when the arc came back……lol, but yes enjoy, get lost in his presence. Love You!

Leave a Reply

