Why I Left the Church

Apparently, people leaving the church is a topic of discussion. I see articles and books discussing the reasons why.   I hear it mentioned in talks. I pass a large, boarded up church in a college town when I visit family. That stark visual jarred me into thought.

I don’t know if people are really leaving the church, or why. I can only tell you why I did.

I left the church because it wasn’t real and neither was I.

That was years ago, and I am back in church. I love the church now, as I did then. But during my absence, I got some things figured out, mostly about myself. I did Bible studies alone, at home. I spent a lot of time one-on-one with God, out in nature. I didn’t miss a day of relating to Him.  I was real, and God was faithful.  I finally faced some truths, and that changed everything.

So there you have it–why I left the church. And I’ll leave you with one last thought:

It’s good to be back. 

This entry was posted in Just Being Real and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

