Advice?

A past version of me offered advice to others whether they asked for it or not. They rarely asked, and I offered a lot of advice.  (Picture a verbal steamroller.)

blah

Beyond that, I expected people to conform to my advice, and even to my opinions.  If they did not, I used the above word pattern and debate tactics to try and convince them.

Then,  I came across a few wise people whose policy is to not offer advice unless it is requested.  I watched these people with fascination and respect.  I’ve decided their policy is a good one.

It was interesting to examine the reasons for my overwhelming advice-giving.  What I found was not pretty.  But I believe that’s a good thing, because the most freeing thing I’ve ever experienced is looking at myself with brutal honesty.  It helped me to change the world starting with myself.

I slip back into my old, bad habits in a heartbeat, so I have to be vigilant.  Thankfully, I personally know the Light of the World, who helps me see my dark corners, and sweeps the dirt away. I meet with Him regularly, one on one.

Actually, I cling to Him as though my life depended on it, because it does. 

And if you’ve encountered me on one of those days when I wasn’t vigilant, please accept my humble apologies.  (Poor you.)

(This post was inspired by J. T. Alewine, who recently passed away, and by my husband.)

This entry was posted in Facing the Monsters, Just Being Real and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Advice?

  1. Rene' says:

    How sweet of you. 💗

Leave a Reply

