Brokenness Aside

“I am a sinner; if it’s not one thing it’s another.  Caught up in words, tangled in lies…”  

(All Sons & Daughters)

This very morning, I was thinking about how many embarrassing, un-Christian things I have done and said, when this text came in from my friend Ray:

20140606-093420-34460293.jpg

And God reminded me how He is doing good things through our friendship. Her verse is going to help me this very day, and help someone else, too.

I’ve been listening to this song, on repeat:

I was alone at home late yesterday, folding laundry, listening to the above song, when my friend Beverly e-mailed me these words, in response to some OCD correcting I did in e-mails to her:

Stephanie — we are all fallible in this fallen world! We yearn for perfection. We are always tweaking. And yet we still make mistakes despite our best intentions! Heaven will be delightful. We will be error-free!

Oh!  How true, and such a good reminder.  Beverly is a really cool person who impacted my life.  We recently reconnected after our chance meeting years ago, and God did some good things through that, too. I appreciate both Beverly and Ray today.

I may not struggle with lies so much anymore, especially since I stopped running and collided head long with the Truth (Jesus) a few years back.  He demanded authenticity, and He helped me.  But I do struggle with:

  • Pride
  • Perfectionism
  • Getting caught up in words
  • And much more

If it’s not one thing it’s another. And when I struggle with the above things, I make it about me, and it’s just not.

Yes, I’ve done and said embarrassing, un-Christian things. But it’s not about me. It’s so about Him, and how He takes brokenness aside, and makes it beautiful.

I’m thankful today that I know Him, and that I’m His child. I’m too much of a mess to try to go this life on my own.

What about you?

This entry was posted in A Thankful Heart, Facing the Monsters, Just Being Real and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

