Cluttering Up: Part 2 (When it Doesn’t Make Sense)

In part 1 of this post, I uploaded photos showing how (unbelievably), I actually cluttered UP in the Year Uncluttered.  This makes no sense.  Unless…

Reading through John recently, I noticed that Jesus spoke some words to the Pharisees that made no sense to them.  If I’d been standing there in that crowd, in that time, those words might have made no sense to me, either, and I might have sided with those Pharisees.

And yet, those words Jesus spoke were unalterable, rock-solid, ground-shaking, change-the-course-of-history truth.

I prayed right then and there that God would not let me toss something that might be truth simply because it doesn’t make sense to me.

So, does it make sense to clutter up in the Year Uncluttered?  Maybe.  Especially if it involves organizing so that I can begin to unclutter.

20140207-114121.jpg

The above photo represents one small step.  In January, I sold two items (the above being one) that were cluttering things up.  They took up quite a bit of space, actually.  In January, I also:

  • Started scripture memory with my friend Ray
  • Started a new budgeting program
  • Began reciting Romans verses with my friend Amanda
  • Had a Google hangout with some friends who are walking with Jesus together
  • Hired some help
  • Began using the Motivated Mom’s app
  • Made progress with paperwork
  • Kept up with my Power Sheets
  • Cooked a little more regularly
  • Counted 909 things that I’m grateful for
  • Made myself relax a bit on weekends
  • Planned an awesome February

So, even though I have tearful days, days where I fail, and days where I see no progress, I also practice remembering things (however small) that I did accomplish.  I hope you’ll join me.

Let’s never give up.

Next post: How about we dig into goal setting for 2014?  It’s never too late.

This entry was posted in The Year Uncluttered (2014) and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

