2014: The Year Uncluttered

Happy New Year!  I have exactly 4 minutes to post this blog.  We need to leave at 8:30 a.m. to help move my oldest son and his family move to San Angelo, Texas for a new job and new adventures.  Yay!

I named 2014 the Year Uncluttered because:

  • I have wanted to unclutter my belongings for some time.
  • I am interested in minimalism.
  • The word uncluttered kept coming to mind as I thought and prayed in December.

My scripture verse for 2014 in Philippians 4:8:

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things. 9 What you have learned and received and heard and seen in me—practice these things, and the God of peace will be with you.

Did you name your year? Did you choose a scripture/saying?  If you feel comfortable sharing, would you comment?

Next post:  Another funny car story involving my 16 year-old son, and the car from this story.  It happened last night.

This entry was posted in The Year Uncluttered (2014) and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 2014: The Year Uncluttered

  1. Marie Dyess says:

    Stephanie,
    Please allow me to tell you how much I admire you ~~~ as a Christian, wive, and mother~~~.such. a lovely Christian walk~~~ loving the Lord enough to be willing to go to the other side of ‘nowhere’ to share the Gospel~~~ your commitment to family~~~ I don’t mean to embarrass you but I do feel that sometimes we need affirmation!
    I hope your mission trip was a success. I continue to look back on my various trips to Brazil and remember how I was blessed to be able to go. God Bless you and your family. Marie Dyess, LifeCall Missionary-BGCT

  2. Ray Rannigan says:

    Big thanks to my dear friend Stephanie who has been such an inspiration to me!! 2014 – The Year of Change

  3. For me 2014 is The Year of Discipline. My verse – Proverbs 23:12 (NASB)
    “Apply your heart to discipline and your ears to words of knowledge.” You are a great inspiration, and source of encouragement! I appreciate you, friend!

  4. Alicia says:

    Last year I had the word “Flourish.” I put up a definition of the word and four key verses near my bed and on my bathroom mirror. It has been good to sit this week and reflect on how my year flowed with that in my focus.
    I have been praying over the last month about 2014. The Lord has impressed things on my heart, but it hasn’t been cleaned up into one word just yet. 🙂
    This is what I have heard: rest, wait expectantly, the Lord is my Provider.
    There are already several verses that are coming up as key for me as well.
    So, I am still trying to clean up what He is speaking to me so that I can have a focus for the year again.
    I like the 1000 things you are doing….really thinking I would like to do that as well. Love the idea of keeping a heart of thankfulness daily. 🙂
    Love.

  5. Rene' says:

    For me, 2014 is The Year of Pursuing Peace. It is so interesting how God leads. This was not what I originally planned to focus on, but I am excited to see what God has in store. Love you, sweet friend!

  6. Pingback: Cluttering Up in the Year Uncluttered: Part 1 (For Amanda) | Daily Walking

Leave a Reply

