Sanity

“Sweet Jesus Christ, my sanity…Sweet Jesus Christ, my clarity…”

The words on the screen drew me in, and enveloped me as I sang.  This was my song, and I knew it.  The song is “Mystery” by Charlie Hall, and the worship pastor chose well that day.

For me, the words to the song have special meaning, because insanity runs in my family.  My mother died at 47 years of age in a state mental institution.  She died of metastatic breast cancer, but nobody remembers that.  My sister died at 37 years of age of a self-inflicted gunshot wound. It was a desperate act by a person running out of options to continue her life of drug and alcohol abuse.  But nobody remembers that, either. What they remember is that these two people struggled in their minds.  People remember their “insanity”.

Long ago, I gave up trying to figure things out, and I gave up asking why.  I decided that if I continued to go round and round in my mind, debating questions with no answers, and raging at the inequity of that, I would go crazy myself.  I accepted the fact that we will never have all of the answers, and I let it go.

Since then, Jesus Christ has absolutely become my sanity, and my clarity.  He is my Counselor, and my Antidepressant. He is my Hope, and the Answer (for me) to everything.  This is a mystery that I’m not sure I can explain.  But it all started with being alone with Him, one on one.  I went to Him regularly for a relationship, after years of being a Christian in a loveless religion.  And I was completely changed.

“Jesus…Mystery…”

Human relationships are hard, and they take some of the greatest effort we will ever expend.  In fact, they take everything we have to give, don’t they?  And we certainly need sanity and clarity, for starters.

I can’t explain the Mystery of Christ, and I really can’t explain how He changed me.  But I can say this:  if your relationships are suffering, or if YOU are suffering, go to Him.  He is Faithful.  He is True.  And He loves you more than your frail human mind can conceive.  He is the Answer, the Key, to everything.

Christ has died, and…Christ is risen.  Christ will come again.”

Sounds like insanity, doesn’t it?  Sometimes, as they say, the Truth is stranger than fiction.  And the Truth, my friend, is a Person Who can set you free.

“Call to me and I will answer you and tell you great and unsearchable things you do not know.”

(Jeremiah 33:3, NIV)

‘Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.’

(John 14:6, NIV)

“And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.”

(John 8:32, NKJV)

This entry was posted in Hope for Women Posts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sanity

  1. Pingback: Death at Christmas (Part 2) | Daily Walking

Leave a Reply

