Being Still in the Sunset

Well…

We were furious with each other, and we acted like two children.  He yelled at me, and I gleefully reciprocated.  I even punctuated my yelling with some screeching of tires and accented THAT with pouting, a smidgen of stomping, a little grocery-tossing and a strategic tear or two.  He had his own ways of making his point. We were both convinced that we were right.

Such drama out of *responsible* adults.

And all of this on our much-awaited getaway weekend to my dad’s lake cabin, and with our 12-year-old within earshot.  The boy’s not stupid, you know.

We eventually had a rather sheepish discussion in which we both admitted the truth:

  • We acted like childish idiots.
  • We were both selfish.
  • We both felt terrible about our actions.

Such simple facts, but oh, how hard to admit.

But before the hugging-and-making-up, and in the midst of the ugliness, I walked out onto the pier to pout and faced this instead:

I don’t know why, but as I lifted my eyes, the sunset (indescribably beautiful and quite elusive of the camera) glued me to the spot and doused me with a little perspective.  And the Still, Small Voice whispered.

10 “Be still, and know that I am God;
I will be exalted among the nations,
I will be exalted in the earth.”

Psalm 46:10, NIV

8But now you must rid yourselves of all such things as these: anger, rage, malice, slander, and filthy language from your lips.

Colossians 3:8, NIV

I stood still.  I listened.  There were no words to say.  Standing there, bare and raw, facing the sinking sun, hair caressed by the wind over the water, hearing God in my heart, the only words that made sense were, “I’m sorry.”

And thankfully, we rushed to say them to each other.

I don’t know why we waited so long, do you?

holy experience

Still counting with Anne:

#1021:  My daughter and her family in Texas again

#1022:  Dallas Cowboy football

#1023:  A stroll at the Botanic Gardens

#1024:  My just-like-daughter’s blog

#1025:  That Becca gets to go to London

#1026:  Vintage suitcases

#1027:  Watching my son snap photos

#1028:  The hugs and salty tears of making up


This entry was posted in A Thankful Heart, Just Being Real and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Being Still in the Sunset

  1. Kathleen says:

    Ooh, this is really honest. Ouch. It makes me squirm…like looking in a mirror.

Leave a Reply

