When Silence is Busy

This past week we started our 21st year of homeschooling.

It’s back to the books, the schedules, the alarm screaming too early in our ears, and better attention to our Motivated Moms list, thank goodness.  Once, there were five students in our bustling home school, and one grandmother living with us, too.  Now, our school has one student:  the youngest of six children, who turned thirteen on the first day of school this past Monday, and who was born the very day our oldest son left for his freshman year in college.

I don’t know where the time went, but I wouldn’t trade anything for it, even the crying-into-the-dishwater days.

I also don’t know how much time I’ll have for blogging, although I’ll try my best.  It’s hard to be faithful to things the way I should be, and sometimes, my little blog gobbles time that could be spent in more productive ways.  But oh, how I love to tap away here, so maybe…

Well…maybe.

Our first week was a hard week…an all-encompassing week.  I had to reach down deep. Learning slices several ways, and sometimes I learn the most.

At the end, I was tired.  Decisions weighed heavy.  Challenges pulled at my heels, like cannonballs on chains. At times last week, I wanted to give up, but around here, (as you may recall) giving up is against the rules.  But don’t we sometimes want to break the rules?  I do, and that’s when I need God the most.  Sometimes I take it one heartbeat at a time.

So remembering that, and not giving up (tha-thump, tha-thump), and thinking of how it’s back to school for many, I’ll end with these words of encouragement, which I keep in my kitchen window these days to help me stay on course.  It’s an apple to teachers everywhere, a treasure they can hold onto:

All your children shall be taught by the Lord, and great shall be the peace of your children.

Isaiah 54:13, NKJV

holy experience

Still adding to the Gratitude List:

#908:  Eli’s giggle

#909:  Flowers dried from the wedding under the oaks, still wrapped in gray satin ribbon. And I can close my eyes and go there…

#910:  School at home

#911:  Job’s reminder

#912:  Standing transfixed at the kitchen window, watching a shower of yellow leaves swirl outside.  Fall is coming…

#913:  Not giving up

#914:  Bootstraps to pull

#915:  Window scriptures

#916:  Becca’s phone encouragement

This entry was posted in A Thankful Heart, School Stories and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to When Silence is Busy

  1. misty says:

    “Learning slices several ways, and sometimes I learn the most”
    this line cuts to the quick, stephanie. it is so true that sometimes we must learn the most, right in the midst of ordinary, extraordinary, and all that lies between. i’m sorry you had a hard week, and i know the need for quiet (especially in this blogging world where priorities are never seen on the other side of teh screen!)
    and as ever, i’m so encouraged that tho you could take (a possibly easier?) road, yuou still choose to educate at home. i’m not quite started yet, and i hold precious this encouragement that it’s worthwhile.

  2. Rene' says:

    Thanks Steph! Isaiah 54:13 is one of my favorite verses. I actually had it posted in my homeschool classroom some 20 years ago. And now you have brought it to my remembrance and spurred me on to post it in my current kindergarten classroom right next to my desk as a daily reminder of what really matters.

    Still another verse that I plan to post right next to that lovely promise in Isaiah 54 is Proverbs 31:26, “She opens her mouth in wisdom, And the teaching of kindness is on her tongue.” (NAS) This verse will serve as a reminder when the dross within my own heart starts rising to the top and I, too, find that it’s really me who needs the learn the most.

    Love you!

  3. Rene' says:

    P.S. Have a wonderful, wonderful year!

  4. So relate…we started our 22 year of home schooling!!! I have only one also…so different from the early years with the first four. Blessings on your year…this is my first year of this adjustment, since even Nicole is gone! Looks like you are enjoying blogging…love your vision that you stated on the first post….changing the world through your blogging….WOW!!!

    • Oh, Janette, I don’t expect to change anything with this little blog. I edited that section of the post after getting this, because I didn’t mean to imply that. I do the blog just for fun and to keep in practice writing. Thanks for stopping by. You encourage me.

      🙂

Leave a Reply

