When Forever Ain’t the Parking Lot

Good night, good night!  Parting is such sweet sorrow, that I shall say good night till it be morrow.

(William Shakespeare, Romeo and Juliet, II, 1)

Sitting in a Whole Foods parking lot, I’m munching my goodies (aahhhh…), when by my car window strolls a vision pleasant enough to be dessert.  It’s a couple in love.

How do I know?  Well, I see 10 telltale signs:

  1. She gazes up dreamily at him.
  2. They hold hands.
  3. They meander slowly.
  4. Smiles, smiles, smiles.
  5. He leans into her as they walk.
  6. And she leans into him.
  7. At the car, they stop and just about kiss.
  8. She still looks up, swathed in gooseflesh (and still smiling) and he leans in more.
  9. Their shoulders are now touching.
  10. Their faces are inches apart.

Get the picture?  This is where you usually yell for them to get a room.

Being married a few years longer than they’ve been enamored with one another, (trust me) I can see into the future through the crystal ball of my windshield and forever doesn’t look anything like what’s going on in this parking lot. If this relationship goes on long enough, I can see ahead to angry tears (snot and everything), phone hang-ups and stony silences in place of the display going on in front of me.

When the parking lot wonder is gone, what will there be to take it to forever?

What there will be (hopefully) is commitment, because as someone wise once said,

Love is not a feeling; it’s an act of your will.

And why forever?

At the risk of stating the obvious, let’s look at 10 reasons we want forever, and not the parking lot:

  1. My last 10 on the 10th post.
  2. We like sex, but sex outside of marriage is just plain dangerous.
  3. Since sex is fun, we need the safety of forever.
  4. Sex makes babies.
  5. Babies need dads and moms.
  6. Babies need homes.
  7. Babies cost money.
  8. You were a baby once.  You should understand.  (This is not hard.)
  9. God said so.
  10. It’s good to be different.

There.  This needs saying, I think.  The Life 101 Classes aren’t cutting the mustard.

…bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.  Love never fails.

1 Corinthians 13: 7-8a, NKJV

This entry was posted in 10 on the Tenth and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to When Forever Ain’t the Parking Lot

  1. Meredith says:

    Your title made me laugh.
    But those are good thoughts…you’re absolutely right.

    Glad you linked up!

  2. carpoolqueen says:

    Here from Mer’s Linky. Well said!

    And completely unrelated, since I also have a wordpress blog, did your blog design change suddenly and without warning overnight? Mine did, to the same design as yours, and I was wondering if I missed a memo somewhere.

  3. O Mom says:

    Love this honest list.
    And am so intrigued by yours and CPQs blogs changing over night….creepy!

    • I think I figured it out! Rebecca told me Car Pool Queen had the same background as I did, before the creepy change. Also, CPQ says her theme was changed to the same one mine was. So, our thought is that WordPress discontinued the so-wonderfully-cool-that-I-can’t-find-a-replacement theme, and just defaulted all blogs using it to the current theme I have. Sigh. CPQ changed hers already, but I can’t find one I like better. Grrr.

Leave a Reply

