Love Whispers

We don’t have to choose between staying close to Jesus and staying on course.  Since He is the Way, staying close to Him IS staying on course.

(“Jesus Calling”, August 4)


What I really wanted to do was go to a movie.  Husband was working late, Son was at a sleepover birthday party, and (Surprise!) me with an errand to run near the two-dollar theater. After the errand, which included getting my favorite iced coffee from an out-of-the-way coffee house, I turned toward the theater.  What a perfect top-off: seeing a movie after the treat of getting my once-in-awhile coffee.  After all, I paid my dues raising six children, didn’t I?  Now, with only one child left at home, I have time for such occasional indulgences, don’t I?

But I didn’t need to go.  Endless critical paperwork lay at home waiting for someone to handle it.  That someone was me.  I turned away from the theater and headed toward home, and it felt right, but it was hard to say no. I was surprised at how hard it was, and such a little thing.

(“Test all things, hold fast to what is good…”)

Back at home, the waiting piles of paperwork held leaning towers of receipts and represented months of unkempt balances and financial disarray.  Big events all strung in a row left no time to think, only time to react with plastic, and the columns didn’t add up.  I was worried about money.

(Keep your life free from the love of money, and be content with what you have…)

Financial anxiety became a fearful snowball, gathering upon itself, feeding demons of insecurity that sometimes circle and taunt me.  Earlier that day, I tormented my poor husband with my irrational fears that he doesn’t really love me.  Not really. Of course he does (genuinely), and he’s proven it for over thirty years, but in the quiet house, the doubt crept close again.

(“There is no fear in love; but perfect love casts out fear…”)

Do I hear the love whispers?  Do I LISTEN?

(Let marriage be held in honor among all…)

(Be anxious for nothing…)

(For He has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you..”.)

(The Lord is my helper; I will not fear…)

How can I say God does not speak?  He, who has shown me in a thousand secret ways that I am loved?

(“Lord, You have searched me and known me…”)

I don’t deserve this intimacy, but it is staggering and it feels wondrous.

(“You know my sitting down and my rising up…”)

Yes, Lord.  I accept it.

(“You understand my thought afar off…”)

And I will listen for Your whispers.

(“You comprehend my path and my lying down, and are acquainted with all my ways.”)

I will rest.

(“For there is not a word on my tongue, but behold, O Lord, You know it altogether.”)

Thank You.  Oh, my God…thank You.  Thank you for whispering to me exactly what I need to hear, for blowing your sweet breath past my ear so that I tingle.  Thank You for tapping me on the shoulder so I will turn and listen.  I love You.  (Just that.)

Amen.

It’s a mind-blowing concept that the God who created the universe might be looking for company, a real relationship with people…

(Bono, from “Bono, Faith Over Karma”, 2005)


holy experience

Scripture (whisper) references:  1 Thessalonians 5:21 (NKJV), Hebrews 13: 5-6 (ESV), 1 John 4:18 (NKJV), Hebrews 13:4 (ESV), Philippians 4:6 (NKJV), Psalm 139:1-4 (NKJV)

This entry was posted in Just Being Real and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Love Whispers

  1. I have really enjoyed reading “Jesus Calling”; so many good insights. You have good insights here, too! Thanks for blessing me with them today.

  2. misty says:

    i don’t deserve this intimacy, it is staggering…
    oh my word how true this is. how the god of the universe knows my name and the hairs on my head? how that?
    it is unbelievable love. (crazy love is teh book i’m currently reading and loving)
    thanks, stephanie!!

  3. Sami says:

    i should probably get the book…i’m surprised i don’t have it.

  4. Pingback: I’m Still Listening « Daily Walking

  5. Pingback: When the Juggling is Over… « Daily Walking

  6. Pingback: Finding Footholds in the Quicksand | Daily Walking

Leave a Reply

