Slowing the Strobe Light

I’m busy…busy…dreadfully busy
You’ve no idea what I have to do.
Busy…busy…shockingly busy
Much, much too busy for you.

This song is from a children’s video, but it spoke to me recently.  Our family watched it,  just for throwback kicks, and to the delight of our grandson.  I was sitting down for once, which is hard for me, a perpetual motion person.  I was sitting down (on purpose) because I wanted to spend time with my son on one of his last visits home before he is married.

It’s hard for me to rest. It’s something I have to let God help me with, and make myself do.  But it’s something I simply must learn to do, or I’ll miss the important things.

If we had to pick one word to describe our society today, busy would have to be on the short list, wouldn’t it?  I’m learning to slow down.  I’m learning to let go of the worries. It takes practice.

We have a wedding later this week.  I have a bazillion things to do.  But in the past few weeks, I’ve made myself stop and take time to visit with the son who will be married, and to listen.  I looked at his features, and memorized them.  It was good.

I’m thankful for those moments.  And I’m thankful for the moments  to come, when my son will make a home of his own, filled with smiles and laughter, a beautiful new bride, new paint and new dishes.  Oh, what a miracle, the ministry of marriage.  (Thank You, Lord.)

On the Monday after the wedding, we leave for a family vacation. Due to the generosity of my amazing father, we will spend a week on a watercolor beach. Believe it or not (seriously), it’s hard for me to sit still, even there.  But I’m going to try.

I’ll see you on the other side, dear friends.

Well a man shall leave his mother and a woman leave her home
They shall travel on to where the two shall be as one.
As it was in the beginning is now and til the end
Woman draws her life from man and gives it back again.
And there is Love,
there is
Love.

holy experience

This entry was posted in Just Being Real and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Slowing the Strobe Light

  1. Love it that you’ve spent time recently listening to this son who is about to be married…to begin that life’s journey with another. Glad you spent time just memorizing his features. May your time of celebration and winding down afterwards be times of total joy and rest.

  2. melissa says:

    So beautiful that God is allowing time to slow down admist the busy that consumes us so you can see the precious gifts of unseen….

  3. Patty says:

    Amen. Amen.

  4. Beautiful post and now my heart smarts thinking that those moments are coming for my sons sooner than I am ready!

  5. Cousin Tony says:

    Another great post.

    We are very alike. I too have trouble sitting still. I feel like it’s a waste of time. When I do, I remind myself of things I could be doing. It’s a shame because I know that I could benefit greatly from relaxing.

    Have a great time at the wedding. All of your children are wonderful, but I have connected most with Matthew because of music and sports. I am happy that he has found someone good to share his life with!

  6. Brianna says:

    I just came over from aholyexperience.com and am so glad I did. My children are still quite young and nearly ready for marriage. 🙂 But my youngest will start kindergarten this fall, and I needed your reminder to sit still with them while they are still home. That’s is such a big part of what they need from me. And such a big part of what I need too. Thank you.
    And blessings to you and your family as you embark on this new season…

  7. Julianne says:

    Slowing down and finding rest is the lesson I am learning too. It has been the most incredible, life changing journey with the most amazing rewards! Enjoy the rest, soak it up. Blessings to you.

Leave a Reply

