Printerz ‘R Awesome

The printer is working!  The printer is working!

It’s a long story, which I’ll spare you, but it included a small math mix up at the point of purchase, and a rather large week or so of technical difficulties with our phone provider, but at long last, the wireless printer is working.

During exasperating configuration of said printer, my 12-year-old son said this to me, in response to a question I asked him:

“WEP is what we’re using.  It uses half the password length as TKIP.  If you use TKIP and try to set up that printer, then you’re only allowed to use the first half of your TKIP password, seeing as how it’s double-length.  Half of your TKIP password = full length WEP password.  Some people use TKIP because it’s so hard to hack.  We use WEP, because our internet is faster.  Each time you go to a webpage, your wireless router has to give the information, so if you have one that’s twice as long, it takes twice as long.  It has to (like) send information from your router (password, network key, SSID) so it doesn’t take rocket science to figure out that WEP is a quicker way to surf the web.”

Oh, yeah?  Did any of you get that?

I purposely hid the fact that I had no clue as to what he was saying, and I asked him how he knew this.  He said, “I’m just a smart guy.  I read the manual to our router.”

Oh, touche’.

At that time Jesus said, “I praise you, Father, Lord of heaven and earth, because you have hidden these things from the wise and learned, and revealed them to little children.”

Matthew 11:25, NIV


so much shouting, so much laughter


This entry was posted in Laughter and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Printerz ‘R Awesome

  1. you are raising a man who will read the manual!

    i wish i could understand retain technical info like that. i have NO idea what he said.

    we could use tips on speeding up our connection–does he make house calls? 😉

  2. Got a comment about this on Facebook from my cousin, who works in the tech world: “Good post. I would say that one of the problems is that the tech world tends to complicate technical ideas more than they need to. Not to say that technology is necessarily easy, but with all of the variables and elements and protocols and acronyms, there has to be a better way to communicate it all so it makes more sense. Ya know what I mean? :)”

    I told him I absolutely do know what he means.

  3. Heatherly says:

    I am also laughing out loud.

    Someday his wife will be a happy woman- a man that reads directions first.

    Thank you for the giggle!

  4. Katie Jones says:

    Haha! He’s the kind of guy I was good friends with at that age… and still am. Thems are some good boys. Happy for your printer, too. 🙂

    Oh, and I get what he said… but only after taking three computer science classes recently *at college*…

Leave a Reply

