When Stillness is Hard

This is hard. Why is this so hard?

(I take another sip of tea, English Breakfast, at that.)

It’s just a patio, and an old, rusty lawn chair, and a geranium pot. I can DO this. I can sit here for 10 minutes, and relax.  For you, and yes, even for me.  For us.

(Focus, Stephanie.)

This is hard for me because I am perpetual motion, shooting off in all directions (circles/stars/confetti), while you are quiet stillness, taking time to sip your coffee, taking time to breathe. (How lovely.)

So for practice, and to put your interests first (such tiny steps), I sit. And make myself stay.

(1, 2, 3, 4…)

And listen.

(5, 6, 7, 8….)

And I find myself almost liking it.  (Slow, easy sigh.)

See?  I can do this.  (Another sip.) I can learn, thanks to you.  And I’m equipped, thanks to the Giver of all good things.

5 Find rest, O my soul, in God alone;
my hope comes from him.

6 He alone is my rock and my salvation;
he is my fortress, I will not be shaken.

Psalm 62:  5-6 , NIV


holy experience

This entry was posted in Just Being Real and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to When Stillness is Hard

  1. I am learning also now that I only have two at home…very different and sometimes I feel guilty,
    Janette

  2. misty says:

    a wise mentor once said that the best thing we can teach our children is to sit still (and know that he is god)… but this is a lesson we need to apply to self. it’s so hard to stop. there’s always another load of dishes or laundry, but we forget teh stains on our own hearts.
    i love ann’s reminder for rest and all the posts that have spurred.

  3. Cousin Tony says:

    Excellent post and one that hits home. Thank you for this.

  4. Pingback: Slowing the Strobe Light « Daily Walking

Leave a Reply

