People Stories: Meet Nonnie

This is Nonnie.

His real name is David, and he’s also my dad.  My oldest son couldn’t say “grandfather”, so that explains the nickname.  My dad is an interesting person, and he’s also an opposite of Sherrie, my last People Story.  So I asked Dad to answer the Three Little Questions, and he agreed.  Getting his picture wasn’t too hard, either.

1.  What are you thankful for?

That I am alive.

2.  What are your challenges?

To stay alive.

3.  What are your dreams?

To leave a legacy to my large family and try to help provide for their future.

(Nonnie does a good job of that.)

Growing up, Nonnie was so poor you can’t imagine it.  Then he got a gig-‘em degree and worked hard and now he’s not poor anymore.  He says it costs a lot of money to be a successful businessman, but I think he likes it better that way.

I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty.  I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.  I can do everything through Him Who gives me strength.

Philippians 4: 12-13, NIV

Still counting the good things, I start today with:

#508:  My dad, and his legacy.

#509:  The Milky Way, washed in rivers across the night sky as though Disney scattered it with Tinkerbell’s wand.

#510:  Accidentally seeing it for the first time, as I glanced out a window in the middle of the night.

#511:  Rushing out to star-gaze, in the backyard/in my nightgown, clutching binoculars.

#512:  Standing stunned in silence before the full moon.

#513:  Never, ever having to grow too old for this.

#514:  Fluffy, homemade biscuits, hot enough to melt the butter.

(Nonnie’s brevity in answering didn’t surprise me.  He says he has an attention span of exactly 13 seconds, but we all know that’s an exaggeration. It’s really only 12.)

holy experience


If you know of someone interesting who wouldn’t mind being featured here in the same format, let me know.  I’ll need their mug shot and I’ll want them to answer the Three Little Questions.

This entry was posted in A Thankful Heart, People Stories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to People Stories: Meet Nonnie

  1. Angela says:

    Isn’t God’s creation just wonderful? Great list!

    Angela

  2. Adam Bryant says:

    Stephanie,
    I am not sure if he wants me to say this or not but I am going to anyway. Your dad, as well as you and your family have helped mold me into whom I am today. His legacy is not just with his immediate family, but also at one time adopted grandsons. David “Nonnie”, had blessed me as a youth growing up in Po Dunk, Texas. Also as a young Married man with a family. Nonnie had helped me get into my current position, he helped me based on my character he said. So I hoped to have proved him right by squaring off agreements several years in advance. In wanted to share a little about his generosity to me and my family while he is still here with us, even though he told me not to tell anyone. Sorry, hope he will understand. It has been almost 3 years now so I figure it has been long enough.
    So his legacy as will yours be told in my family for years to come. Thanks again for being who you are and doing what you are doing. Thanks!

  3. Well, then, Nonnie was doing what Jesus told us to do, wasn’t he? It says, so, right here:

    (http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Matthew+6:1-4&version=NLT)

    Adam, you are a treasure, and you and your precious family are on my 1000 Gift list. Bless you.

  4. misty says:

    oh a legacy!
    i love this post, even tho it makes me a teeny bit sad.
    i love Story. i love our Story-maker.

  5. Pingback: Slowing the Strobe Light « Daily Walking

  6. Pingback: What a Way to Spend a Summer | Daily Walking

Leave a Reply

