The Ice Cream Wars, Part 2

Oops.  The gig is up, and I know it.  My hand stops in midair on its way to the ice cream carton in the freezer, as I hear what has to be my 12-year-old son stomping up behind me.

Son: Mom, what are you doing?

Me: Um…getting a bite of ice cream?

Son:  You don’t even like ice cream.

Me: Well, no, but I do like sugar, and today I’m not feeling too picky.

At this point, my son switches tactics and begins to plead.

Son:  But MOM…I was SAVING that.

Me: Saving it?  For what?

Son: A snack.

My son defines this as a snack.  Folks, they say a picture is worth a thousand words, and I agree.

Ladies and Gentlemen of the Jury, the Prosecution rests its case.

(For background information on this case, please refer to The Ice Cream Wars, Part 1 here.)

Now for the FINE PRINT (A Must Read):

Son’s rebuttal: Said son wishes it duly noted that this is not a photo of the actual ice cream carton in question, and on these grounds, he vehemently disputes the amount of ice cream left in the carton when he called it a snack.

Mom’s response: Is it my fault that the specific carton mentioned disappeared from the freezer at warp speed, before I could get a picture?  How convenient.

You’re the jury.  You decide.

To be continued…


This entry was posted in The Ice Cream Wars and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Ice Cream Wars, Part 2

  1. Tempi says:

    That is an Al Briggs sized snack.

  2. Leanna says:

    I love it. Sounds like a man after my husband’s heart. Especially since the ice cream pictured is Blue Bell… the ONLY kind of ice cream I’m “allowed” to buy.
    I love your writings 🙂

  3. Pingback: The Ice Cream Wars, Part 3 « Daily Walking

Leave a Reply

