Spitting Gum at My Friends

I spit out gum* in my friend’s yard.

Can you believe it?  I did…I spit out gum in my friend’s beautiful yard, I might add, when THIS was only 5 steps away and also in my friend’s yard:

But I’m a good person, right?  And I do have an excuse.  The gum was old, and I was on my walk and far from home.  Well, okay, a half a block, but you understand, I’m sure.  At least I went back, picked up the gum, and put it here:

If you can find the gum in this picture, I’ll send you a pack, but it’s there, I promise.

We do this, don’t we?  We think we’re good people in most ways, and we are.  And we do have such logical, circumstantial excuses.  It all sounds good, but it doesn’t make sense sometimes.  Not really.

For example, I’ve heard parents defend their teens as “good kids” who were caught doing horrific things to another human being and filming it for the Internet.  I’ll spare you the details, but I caught a little of the video, and believe me, these were not good kids.

It is far more reasonable to admit that we have Leviathan living in us, but I’ll talk about that some other day when I feel like facing the monsters.

Christianity 101 teaches that we are not inherently good at all, but that we are born with a default to bad-ness, a sin nature there from the start, that only God is good, and without Him, we just make messes.  And spit gum at our friends.

And when you look around you at things going on in this world, that idea makes a lot more sense, now doesn’t it?

*Yes, I’ve done way worse, but it’s my blog and I get to pick the stories.  Sorry.

This entry was posted in Facing the Monsters and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spitting Gum at My Friends

  1. Connie says:

    Steph., I so enjoyed reading your blog this morning. Your thoughtfulness inspires me on to be better and more importantly, think better. God has blessed us with so many “simple” things in our life to be thankful for, yet we consume ourselves with things that don’t really matter in the scheme of it all.
    I need a friend like yours.. can I have her? We do need to have someone that encourages us, but also holds us accountable as Christian women… help us to see ourselves as we really are. Your so blessed.
    Keep writing.. and I’ll keep reading.
    Connie

Leave a Reply

