Admitting Arrogance

“Lord, save me from my arrogance.”

Charlemagne, one of the great rulers of all time, was said to pray this prayer every day.  He ruled France and eventually the entire Roman Empire.

I need this prayer.

A friend of mine and I struggle with being basket cases from time to time.  She is on my 1000 Gift List, because (among other reasons) she is patient with me when I waste her time.  Sometimes I waste her time whining.  At other times I waste her time being forgetful, but that’s another post, and a much funnier one.

This one is not funny, because it is about my pride, wearing a disguise as fear.  It wears the disguise because it is so ugly.

My husband tells me that C.S. Lewis explains in “Mere Christianity” how we must consciously practice doing the right things, kind of like exercising our muscles to get stronger.  I ought to read that classic book.  And I need a lot of practice, because often when I’m a basket case, I can unwind the ball of string and find pride (a.k.a. arrogance) sitting there leering at me, with its hideous face.   And to think I believed it was something more palatable, like fear.

Of course, it helps when you have someone who is willing to die to save you from yourself, and as a Christian, thankfully, I have that indescribable gift.

So!

My friend and I help each other practice, and boy, do we need it.  The verse we claim for our friendship is this:

“Let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds.”  (Hebrews 10:24)

I hope you have a friend like that.

Here is a photo of me and the friend I mentioned.  Since I called her a basket case, I’ll let you figure out which one I’m talking about, but she knows who she is.  I chose this photo because it makes me look better than I really do.  See how much practice I need?

This entry was posted in Facing the Monsters and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Admitting Arrogance

  1. Barbara Alewine says:

    Yes I am sure it is the one in the middle who is a basket case’

  2. Pingback: When Sitting Still is Hard « Daily Walking

  3. Pingback: Slowing the Strobe Light « Daily Walking

  4. Pingback: Slowing the Strobe Light « Daily Walking

  5. Rene' says:

    This is one of my favorite pictures of the three of us. And, I know exactly who the basket case it, but I’m not telling!

Leave a Reply

