The Ice Cream Wars

There are ice cream wars at my house.  The combatants are my husband and my son.  And apparently, all’s fair in love and ice cream.  Now, if the truth be known, they are both being selfish, but to them, that’s beside the point.  Before you read on, there is one thing I should explain.  I can tell this story because I don’t like ice cream very much.

Husband: Stephanie, did you realize that your son ate ALL the ice cream last night?

MeReally?

HusbandSeriously, I didn’t get but one little bowl.  No matter how much ice cream I buy, or how carefully I hide it, it’s GONE before I can even enjoy a bowl.  He’s so SELFISH.

MeHide it? Well, honey, isn’t the ice cream for everyone to enjoy?

Husband: Of course.  Well…yes, of course.

One week later…

Son: Mom, did you know that Dad ate ALL of the ice cream last night?  He is so SELFISH!

Me: NO!

Son: Seriously, Mom, he ate the ENTIRE carton of ice cream before I could get even one bite.

Me: How do you know?

SonI saw him eating a bowl of ice cream, and I went to look for it, and the empty carton was in the trash.  He didn’t even tell me it was there.

Me: What flavor was it?

SonChocolate, chocolate chip.

Me: Well, that explains it, then.

The flavor is important, you see, because my dear husband purposely buys flavors that the rest of us don’t like, so he will get to eat it all. And that, my friends, is called an ice cream coup.

coup

[koo] –noun, plural coups [kooz]

1.  a highly successful, unexpected stroke, act, or move; a clever action or accomplishment.

2.  a brave or reckless deed performed in battle by a single warrior, as touching or striking an enemy warrior without sustaining injury oneself.

Important Disclaimer:  For each and every funny story I have about my family, they have an equally funny and embarrassing story about me. Hopefully, some of those will make it here, too.

Important Footnote:  Notice when he eats all the ice cream, he’s suddenly MY son.  Do you do this?  When the son does something wrong, do you suddenly fight over whose he is?

This entry was posted in The Ice Cream Wars and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Ice Cream Wars

  1. Well, all I can say is, Barry and Tuff need to go and read my blog on entitlement. That’s all Im sayin. Im just sayin.

  2. David Awesomesauce says:

    This is classic.

  3. Lexie Smith says:

    Great picture of the evidence!

  4. Sami says:

    Sometimes I have to hide…I mean, place large objects in front of…the chips. Or someone can empty a Pringles can in no time flat!

  5. Pingback: The Ice Cream Wars, Part 2 « Daily Walking

  6. Pingback: The Ice Cream Wars, Part 3 « Daily Walking

Leave a Reply

