Facing the Monster: Fear

I knew quite well that I was my own worst enemy, but it surprised me to sleeplessness that posting my first blog entry here struck literal terror in me.  Chest-tightening, heart-pounding terror.  “What IS this?” I kept asking myself, over and over.

Well, I haven’t got that figured out yet, and when I do, I’ll let you know.  But one thing I know for sure is that fear and faith do not occupy the same space, to quote someone I’ve enjoyed studying with in the past.  And what I experienced was plain old, belly-frozen fear.

But I am the one who says I am a person of faith.  I am the one who says I believe what the Bible says.

So…

What about these?

“Be anxious for nothing…”  (Philippians 4:6)

“Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.” (John 14:27)

“Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy-laden, and I will give you rest.”  (Matthew 11:28)

Of course, there’s much more.  And at the end of Philippians 4:6-7, the promise is peace.  My conclusion for today?

It’s easy to say I believe.  It’s just not so easy to actually DO it.

(Coming soon:  The Ice Cream Wars)

This entry was posted in Facing the Monsters and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Facing the Monster: Fear

  1. Pingback: Admitting Arrogance « Daily Walking

Leave a Reply

